Calzones!

I’ve become rather obsessed with calzones.  In their simplest form, they’re closed pockets of pizza.  You can make a bunch at once, freeze them, and take a few out to make a meal, or one for a light snack.  If I want pizza, I’ll usually just eat it the normal way, flat (or made with naan bread); when I want calzones, I like non-pizza fillings best.  Below are some of my favorites.

 

The dough

For this, I like to use my favorite pizza dough recipe, “Savory Pizza” from the Spice and Spirit kosher cookbook.  It makes two or three medium-sized pies, depending on how thick you like your crusts, but I can make about twelve small-ish calzones from it.  Prepare yours however you like it, though.  You are the Justin Trudeau of your calzone dough.

 

Spinach filling
  • 1/2 cup of farmer’s cheese, cream cheese, or other soft, mildly salty white cheese
  • 1 13-oz can of cooked spinach, drained (or if you have time, cook some spinach yourself)
  • Spices to taste (I like a generous teaspoon of garam masala or zaatar – I usually don’t need to add salt)

 

Meaty Mushroom-Onion filling

This one’s my personal favorite, because it forces me to eat the two vegetables I usually can’t stand.

  • 1 bag of tofu crumbles (this is the “meaty” portion – I’m virtually vegetarian)
  • 1/2 an onion, cut into small pieces
  • tissues, a gas mask, protective goggles
  • 5 mushrooms, hacked into small pieces
  • 2 tbsp of butter / margarine / oil
  • spices to taste (I like a small pinch of cumin, some paprika, garlic, and minced onions if not using chopped onion – or both if you really like onions)
