Slushy Ice Coffee / Imitation DD Frozen Coffee

Israeli-style ice coffee is a pretty magical thing.  It’s like coffee ice cream in beverage form.  After tasting that slushy goodness during my time abroad, it’s pretty hard to get used to the American version (just cold coffee with ice cubes).

Dunkin Donuts recently introduced frozen coffee drinks to their menu, which come pretty close, but I find they’re a bit too sweet, a bit too much in a single serving, and a bit too pricey for my liking.  (Maybe I just had a bad experience at my local restaurant, since they claimed to have raised the price but conveniently forgot to update their menu behind the counter….)

For a couple of weeks, in an effort to save time and money, I’ve been experimenting with different slushy ice coffee recipes I found online, with mixed results.  And then, this recipe came along:

Coming from the home of the best ice coffee on the globe is this recipe tutorial from the YouTube channel of (sp?) Lihi Krevitz, an Israeli cook who makes easy, flavorful recipes out of her home kitchen.  Although most of the Hebrew-language instructions (and the metric ingredient list) are lost on me, I was able to follow what she was doing.

 

Slushy Ice Coffee (serves two)
Ingredients
  • 2 cups of milk
  • 6 teaspoons of sugar (more or less depending on your preference – I’d probably use less)
  • 3 teaspoons of instant coffee granules (or strong, fresh coffee)
  • 4 cups of ice cubes
Directions
  1. Add all the ingredients except the ice to the blender and blitz until well incorporated.
  2. Add the ice and gently pulse until the ice has broken up into a lovely, slushy consistency.
  3. Serve immediately (because it’s going to melt and get all watery and gross if you don’t).
