Five Reasons to Smile (Activity)

I first heard of this activity on my favorite young writers’ website.  Every so often, we tag each other to share five reasons why we’re smiling today or why others should too.  Sometimes, the reasons I come up with are far too personal to share online, but that doesn’t stop me from tallying them up to myself – that’s something I’ve started doing towards the end of every other day.

Sometimes the reasons are the same from day to day (e.g. I’m alive, etc.), but I push myself to come up with new ones as well.  It’s such a helpful, therapeutic activity for me, because it forces me to look on even the most miserable day in a positive light.

For example, the other day started with some horrible news; I was pretty upset for most of it, but on the bright side, I learned to make slushy iced coffee the way Dunkin Donuts does (which saves me $5), and I got to play some board games with my family for the first time in a while.  A different devastating issue resolved itself pretty well.  My family loves me; that’s pretty rad.  I got another voice acting commission.  There, five reasons (small and insignificant as they are) to look on with a smile from that day, even though the majority of it felt so arduous.

How about you?  Can you think of five reasons to smile about your day?  You don’t have to tell me, but I bet if you think about it, you’ll find some.